Extract: ‘Goldsmith Jones’, by Sam Taylor-Pye

And to round off my posts for the Clink Street Publishing Summer Blogival 2017, I present to you, an extract from Goldsmith Jones. Enjoy!

Goldsmith Jones Cover

Excerpt from Ch. 13 of Goldsmith Jones ‘Cherry Pie’.

 Jones and Raccoon have just seen the Gang of Black Riders loading up with weapons to engage in a violent street fight. Raccoon has Jones back, and sets them both on the road to safety.

 

“C’mon,” said Raccoon, dragging me down with him to the bottom of the house. “We need to get out of here quick. There’s a war coming.”

I followed him, crawling in the stinking dirt like a stray critter fleeing from the rifle. I murdered countless worms and other crawly things that made my hands filthy. When we got to the other side of freedom, there was a rain barrel full of nothing but dusty moths and dead birds.

We were thirsty. Raccoon held on to the white wolf paw hanging from his neck and prayed with it, to the dark stormy clouds for rain. No sooner had he done begging with the Devil than the whole sky opened up and showered upon us. The noise made my ears deaf to all but the voice of heavy rain. I closed my eyes, lifted my chin, and opened my mouth to the sky. Cool water fell on my parched tongue. I swallowed sweet drops of heaven. When my thirst was quenched I turned to Raccoon. He face was raised to the sky and he was smiling high. His belly was jiggling and he was laughing, getting drowned by heaven’s waterfall.

I pinched his belly when he was unawares. He flinched and hollered, then laughed when I did it again, covering himself up with his arms to stop me doing it, while daring me to do again.

I chased him down the street, but he was too fast for me. He slowed down on purpose and I got him good outside the bakery store. Pinching his belly until he could hardly breathe with laughter. He tried doing the same to me but I squealed like a cut pig and we both agreed to stop as we was getting unwanted attention, and I was in no mind for making money on Dead Eye dogs today. In the end, Raccoon begged a cherry pie, too set with flies, from the baker. He rid the thing of all contagion, picking out the slimy wing critters and cleaning his finger on his shirt. Then when we sat under the boardwalk, and like a pair of ghosts, seeming free of nosy people, set down to feasting on our prize cherry pie.

Fourteen-year-old Goldsmith Jones is left stranded in crime-ridden, gangland territory. He finds himself living at The Shades, a home to local street kids. While selling sexual favours down the Dead Man’s Alley to survive, Jones is charmed by a seaman he knows as Sweet Virginia. Moving further away from the relative security that The Shades and his best friend, Raccoon, offered him, Jones is drawn ever closer to the manipulative Sweet Virginia. When Raccoon falls gravely ill and is taken to convalesce on the rural Rancheria, Jones is left under the controlling powers of the unscrupulous navvy. Swindled and wrongly accused, he is unexpectedly rescued by the leader of the villainous Suarez Brothers, the charismatic Saul. Faced with a choice between becoming Saul’s ‘little brother’ and saving Sweet Virginia’s life, Goldsmith Jones must embark on a dangerous journey which will change his young life forever.

Purchase from Amazon UK  – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Goldsmith-Jones-Sam-Taylor-Pye-ebook/dp/B01MTYL3PO/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1485385843&sr=1-1

Purchase from Barnes & Noble – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/goldsmith-jones-sam-taylor-pye/1125296311?ean=9781911110972

About Sam Taylor-Pye

Sam Taylor-Pye grew up on the border between Washington state and British Columbia, Canada

and currently lives in Kent in the UK. She received her BA from the Open University, and has an MA in Creative Writing. This is her first published novel.

 

Follow Sam on twitter – https://twitter.com/rtaylorpye

 

Leave a Reply

