Book blogging is a full-time job I don’t get paid for

And I don’t get weekends off. Unfortunately, this is a consequence of my brain being weird.


While I don’t post a book review every day I still spend a lot of time organising myself, talking to other bloggers, writers and blog tour organisers, scheduling posts, reading books – obviously – and thinking about what I’m going to write. Unfortunately, because of the way my brain works, when I do a thing, I do a thing with everything I have.

I sometimes overload myself, get too many book reviews or blog tours booked in and have my own books to work on. It’s not deliberate; I don’t work a ‘normal’ job because that’s the route to ‘suicidal Rosie not writing at all’, and sleeping all the time rather than just for 18 hours out of 24, so, to me, being a book blogger and writer is my job. I don’t get paid for my reviews, obviously, though books are always good 😀

Since I treat my writing and book blogging as a full-time job, and a hobby, I struggle to switch off. I’m trying to get things in place so that I don’t overload myself with too many book reviews. I’ve had an increase in requests in the last couple of days. I’m now booked up until October. I feel really bad saying I don’t want to review a book I’m offered, but I’m getting more practice and I try to be honest about why.

I recently joined a Facebook group called ‘Book Connectors’ which has been really helpful for advice. I had to ask about something today. As you know, when I take part in a blog tour I usually like to do a review post, plus a content post or two – interviews, extracts, cover reveals – to give a more rounded idea of the book. I agreed to do a blog tour but when I got to the book I was supposed to be reading, I found I just couldn’t get on with it. I don’t know precisely what it was about the book that didn’t work for me and I’m not going to say which book it is, although I have sent feedback for the author via the blog tour organiser.

I was in a quandary about what to do. Luckily, the people of Book Connectors advised me to let the blog tour organiser know and just post the content posts. That’s what I’ve done, and it’s okay. The sky didn’t fall, the organiser doesn’t hate me. I also found out it’s not customary to post both a review and content. I don’t know how I feel about that.

I’m going to keep going, and try to not get overwhelmed. I have to keep in mind that I have only limited time and energy to devote to book blogging, as much as I want to review everything sent to me, and that I can say no, or decide I don’t want to review a book after I start it because I can’t get on with the book. I’d rather not post a review than post an unfair review.

One thought on “Book blogging is a full-time job I don’t get paid for

  1. I have suffered from the same dilemma. Its hard not letting it take over my life sometimes and remembering to pace myself. I’m nowhere near your productivity but its a life goal.

Leave a Reply

