7th April Prompt – Asthmatic

I having been able to do anything with the prompts for the 5th and 6th, so I’ve gone straight to the 7th. I’m asthmatic. The worse asthma attack I’ve had in recent years was on 17th June 2015. I left the house to go to sewing and before I got 100 yards from the house I was struggling to breathe. It’s not fun. I was reacting to something in the air, and the reaction was pretty immediate. As soon as I got indoors and rested I could breathe normally, but the second I went back outside it started again. I don’t know what caused the reaction, but I live near oil refineries, factories and docks, as well as fields of rape. It could have been any or all of them.

On with the story.

Joe coughed and wheezed. He tried desperately to drag some air into lungs that already felt too full. He slumped against the lamppost, his brain buzzing and eye sight fogging as he continued to fight for breath.

“You okay mate.” A voice, unknown and masculine, spoke behind him.

“Nugh.” Joe ground out, unable to form words with so little air in his lungs.

“Steady there. Focus on your breathing.”

Joe listened to the voice, focusing on each breath as the voice spoke.

“In…Out…In…Out…”

Slowly the pressure lifted as Joe drew more air into his lungs.

“That’s better. You’re nearly there.”

The fog around his eyes receding, Joe turned to thank his rescuer.

There was no one there.

 

I’ll be back later with today’s prompt, but for now I’m going out to sit in my garden and read. It’s a fairly nice day.

Leave a Reply

