Characters everywhere – I have a mind map of them now

I haven’t got a book review for you this week, I’ve been too busy reading for my MA, but I thought I’d share some of my novel progress with you.

It’s stalled; 18000 words into book four and I’m stuck. I’m stuck because I can’t remember where I left some of my characters in the earlier books. So, to fix this minor problem I am going back through the first three novels and writing down all the characters, or at least the ones with speaking roles.

I have some mind mapping software that I’ve found really helpful for this task. I can see the connections between different characters and add bits of important information when it gets mentioned in the text. I’ve also found at least one superfluous character who makes a single appearance early in the first book but does nothing but say a couple of lines. I’m going to excise the character and give the lines to someone else.

 

This is a small sample of the chart, it only covers one small area of the whole thing, somewhere near the centre. If you look closely a secret made known in book three is revealed.

screenshot-2017-03-03-18-36-50

Leave a Reply

