And in other news…

Hehe! I did it! I will be studying for my MA in Creative Writing part time from late September at the University of Lincoln. I’ve waited so long for this and now I’m finally going to be able to get my Masters degree (with any luck). I’ve had to take out a loan from Student Finance England to pay for the course, trains and taxis, books, stationary, food on my day at uni, everything really because my ESA and Housing Benefit only cover my current housing and bills; there’s no way I’d even be able to afford the train fare if I didn’t take out the loan. Luckily, they’ll add it to my loan amount from way back when I went to university to get my Bachelors degree and I’ll only have to start paying it back when my income goes over £21,000 a year. That’s better than getting a bank loan or credit card (not that I can get either).

I’m really looking forward to going to uni again; it’ll get me out of the house one day a week and I’ll be learning again in a structured environment with interesting people.

I’m a little bit excited; can you tell?

 

And there’s something else. I got some feed back from an author I met at the Local Authors Event in Grimsby the other week. Joy Wood read my first book, the first draft manuscript and sent me this email:

 ‎Wed‎ ‎3‎ ‎Aug ‎19‎:‎52 to  Rosemarie Cawkwell
Re: Hidden Fire for you to read
Hi Rosie,
I’ve finished your book, and all I could say is wow – you certainly have a great talent! Your writing flows beautifully. The story was well thought out, and the writing so good, if felt more like I was watching it rather than reading it. I sincerely feel you need to upload that onto Amazon KDP. It’s simple enough to do (If I can do it, anyone can!) and then you can share with others (if you want to of course). You won’t earn a fortune, but at least you’ll be sharing that excellent story…
…Saturday was a lovely event, but sadly not many people came through the door. Last year we did it early evening (prior to Xmas) and we sold much more. Still, it’s not all about selling, it’s nice to mix with other writers, and of course meeting people like yourself.

Well done on that story – I sincerely wish I could write to that standard, it truly is very very good. I don’t feel you’d need my help in the future (you are in a different league to me and could end up selling thousands), but if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know. I don’t know everything, but I fumble around and do okay!

Lots of love  Joy xxx

 

I’m rather happy with the feedback. It’s one thing my sisters saying they like my book (they’re biased) but another author I’ve only met once is a different matter. It’s certainly given me more confidence in my writing now that people have actually had a chance to read my stuff and don’t think it’s entirely terrible.

Best be off, got books to write (and read) 😀

2 thoughts on “And in other news…

Leave a Reply

