Update: 25th July 2016

Good evening readers, I thought it might be time for a bit of an update, since I’ve been so quiet this month on the reviewing front. I’m tired. It’s the heat and the amount of light; I sleep at odd hours and I’m not really in the mood to look at a screen all day because my eyes hurt. 

In other news, I have been accepted on the MA Science and Environmental Journalism course (Lincoln University, part time, 2 years) and I have applied for my Postgraduate Student Loan to pay for it and for travelling expenses/food/etc. Before I knew I’d been accepted I looked at the MA Creative Writing (same university), because the course leader for the journalism course suggested it might be a more suitable course. I’m very impressed by the course of study and think it will suit me down to the ground. I had looked at it briefly but had dismissed the idea of applying for it when I saw the science and environmental journalism course. I applied for it, thinking I’d not got a place on the journalism MA and then saw that I had been accepted. So now I’ve applied for two, (three if you count the OU MA I applied for but am now umming and ahhing about because they want the best part of two grand in the next three weeks and I haven’t got two grand and to be honest I’m not impressed by their MA Creative Writing now that I’ve had a proper look at the Lincoln University MA Creative Writing) got in to one and I’m waiting to see about the other. I sent a portfolio of my work to the admissions team and I’m hoping it’s good enough to make up for my 3rd when they want 2:2’s. I shall keep you updated.

I have also started to allow other people to read the novels. Or at least the first drafts of the first two. Feedback has been good so far. I have three readers at the moment and a forth volunteer but I don’t have their email address to send the documents to. As soon as I do, I’ll have four readers. I’m looking for a fifth but haven’t found anyone yet. The feedback I have had has praised the plot, the world and tone. There are a few spelling mistakes apparently, but I expect that; I tend to write at strange hours of the day and night and I have a wayward littler finger that types when it shouldn’t. You should see how many times I have to correct words in these posts before I publish and even then I miss things.

I restarted work on the third novel today. I am now 5608 words and four chapters in; 3026 (two chapter) of those have been written this afternoon. I’m going to try to work on the novel every day now that I’ve had a six week writing rest and feel refreshed. It’s not been a complete writing rest: I have written a short story, made notes for my next creative writing course assignment and published a few blog posts since 10th June. I feel like the time spent sewing and reading has help my brain; I put a lot of effort in to getting the first two books finished in the first sis months of this year that I ran out of steam. Doing something else has helped me regain some energy and focus, and now I can get back on with writing. I find the same thing helps with temporary writer’s block. Go and do something else then come back to the writing.

 

I have a headache from dehydration now, so I’m going to stop looking at a computer screen, have some water and read a book, yes an actual, physical book. I’ve been sent a book called ‘South’ by Frank Owen to review straight from the publisher. At some point, when my laptop decides to cooperate I’ll share the press release with you all.

 

Bye

Rosemarie

xXx

 

2 thoughts on “Update: 25th July 2016

Leave a Reply

