Does Freyja have a personal name?

Random thought as I lay in bed last night contemplating the shiny I’ve won in one of Sebastian Lokason’s giveaways – the prize is Vanir related but I won’t know which of the prizes I’ve won until it arrives later in the month -and the amber hair dodad/bracelet (made by Ember at EmberVoices) that I won earlier this year.

Something is afoot. And not just the funny shaped thing on the end of your leg.

Anyway, ignore the terrible joke, I do have a point.

The god known as Frey, Freyr, Ingvi Freyr, or Frea, has a personal name, recorded a Ing. ‘Frey‘ and the variants mentioned above are titles meaning ‘lord’.

The goddess known as Freya, Freyja, Freo, Frowe, on the other hand does not have a recorded personal name. Her ‘names’ are titles, all meaning ‘lady’. So the question arises, does She have a personal name and if so, what is it?

7 thoughts on “Does Freyja have a personal name?

  1. Freyja has quite a few other names that do mean things, but the most name-like is probably “Mardoll”, and that’s the one I treat as Her personal name, the way Ingvi is Freyr’s. -E-

      • 🙂

        Oh! And there are others for whom Freyja and Frigga are conflated, at which point Freyja is the title and Frigga is the name. There’s plenty of historical basis for that, in areas where They weren’t separate, but my own experience of Them is that They are very distinct, so yeah, I go with Mardoll.

        Wheee!

        -E-

      • I’d heard that some conflate Freyja and Frigga because there’s evidence and a theory that They weren’t separate at some point. I’m not able to experience Them directly so I can’t discern these things for myself. Thanks for the extra information.

      • There’s two reasons for conflating Them as far as I can tell. One is more relevant than the other. It seems They were a single goddess at times in some mainland Germanic cultures, so that’s fair. But also, Victorian scholars who want a single coherent narrative out of dozens of cultures over hundreds of years filtered through Christian scribes often tried to simplify the mythology by equating various names. Sometimes there’s good linguistic or thematic reasons for it. Other times not so much. Frigga + Odin vs. Freyja + Odr seemed like evidence They’re actually one pair with two name sets. The idea that Odin and Odr might be separate (there’s good arguments on both sides), or, gods forbid, that Odin/Odr might have two wives, doesn’t always register.

        In Icelandic mythology, Frigga and Freyja are pretty clearly separate, and that’s where we have the most solid collection of stories. But in other areas there’s only one name for both, and lacking stories it’s hard to say if that’s something missing, or that They are one goddess in those areas and times. I suspect some of each.

        In any case, I met a woman in Sweden who is a Freyjaswoman who considers Them one goddess, and this works for her practice. So there’s that.
        -E-

      • I suppose what works works. Maybe it depends on which point in time your original focus comes from? I mean, if for example the early influence that brings a person to Them as two individuals is Icelandic, that’s how Freyja relates to that person, as distinct from Frigga. If a person is drawn to early migration age Continental sources She comes to them as She was then? I don’t think time is necessarily linear for the Gods. Is it possible for Them to be two individuals at the same time as being the same individual in different times and places?
        I’m over-thinking this aren’t I?

        Anyways, thanks for your contribution,

        Rose
        xXx

      • I firmly believe mythic time and embodied linear time are only indirectly related, and thus our experience of linear time is irrelevant to the subjective experience of other beings. So… basically, yeah, what you’re saying is more or less how I see it, and I try not to let it break my brain too much.

        -E-

Leave a Reply

