November update: the novel and other things

Good afternoon, loyal readers,

I’ve been a bit quiet lately, haven’t I?

I’m trying to get as much as possible written on my novel; instead of doing NaNoWriMo this year I’m trying to complete my first draft of a novel already over 100,000 words long. I have made some progress but not as much as I would like. I have got closer to the finale and I know what changes I need to make to the original short story that acts as the last three chapters of this book. I also need to make some changes to the work I’ve done on the second book, but that’s a job for next year.

I’ve been distracted by the internet and television package I got at the beginning of the month. Yes, internet is a time-stealer, but having catch-up television and a decent digital connection is even worse (I’ve watched most episodes of series 2 of Arne Dahl and all of the ‘The Last Kingdom’ episode several times – thanks BBC iPlayer). I’ve only just joined the 21st century it seems and my brain isn’t coping well.

I’ve been working on my craft business as well, making stock and uploading it to the Listings page on Rosie’s Wonky Creations, and preparing for craft fairs etc. I have business cards for that business now, which I use as price tags at craft fairs. I’m not making any money so far, in fact it’s costing me a bit, but I’m persistent, and it gets me out of the house occasionally.

My brain is being a brat and keeps disturbing my sleep with brain chatter; it just will not shut up. I do come up with some decent ideas though so I don’t mind, except I’m exhausted all the time. My body finally won the argument last night; I went to bed at seven last night and woke up at ten this morning. For the last two hours I’ve been wide awake, busy with housework, craft business stuff and blog updates. Now I want to nap again. This isn’t good; I blame the cold virus currently infecting me.

I might go for a walk to see if that wakes me up. The dogs are still in season so they’ll have to stay home. They’re getting restless with not having a walk for so long, but they’re still indulging in their favourite hobby regularly: napping.

All the not sleeping and being tired, and having a cold, is interfering with my reading schedule as well as my writing schedule. I have some very good books to review for you all, but I haven’t had the energy. I read a bit on the bus yesterday and I’m going to try to dedicate an hour or two every day, but it all depends on my rather dodgy immune system.

I’m cold and tired, I think it might be nap time,

bye,

Rose

xXx

 

Leave a Reply

