Review: ‘Furiously Happy’ by Jenny Lawson

image

Pan Macmillan
24th September 2015
ISBN 9781447238324

Furiously Happy is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it’s about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways. And who doesn’t need a bit more of that?


My review

Jenny Lawson, who blogs at TheBloggess.com, describes the trials and tribulations of living with depression, anxiety and a variety of other mental and physical health conditions with humour. I laughed all the way through, except where I cried in empathy with her and others dealing with suicidal ideation and self-harm. This book was a great help to me yesterday when all I wanted to do was hide in my bedroom, and I think it is a good book for those who have someone with mental health conditions in their lives. I found so many parallels with my own responses to things – hiding from everything, anxiety about leaving the house to go on a journey etc.

And Rory the Dead Raccoon (and Rory Too) are adorably hilarious. I want one!

Leave a Reply

