We need something like this…

Last weekend there was a polytheist conference in Olympia, Washington, US, called Many Gods West, organised by a small group of polytheists, for the polytheist community in the US. I’ve been enjoying reading the blog posts of people who went.

It sounds like people had a good time and enjoyed the rituals, classes and talks. The keynote speech is on polytheist.com, and is quite an interesting read.

Some of my favourite blog posts to come out of Many Gode West so far:

https://embervoices.wordpress.com/2015/08/11/many-gods-west-friday/

I won one of Ember’s jewellery giveaways a few weeks ago, a lovely amber string that’s currently doing double duty as hair do-dad  and belief signifier.

https://blackstonemonastery.wordpress.com/2015/08/10/reflections-on-the-many-gods-west-conference/

I’ve never read any of the posts on this particular blog before but the post seems pretty comprehensive.

https://seekerphaedrus.wordpress.com/2015/08/04/many-gods-west-part-i/

And part 2

https://seekerphaedrus.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/many-gods-west-part-ii/

And last but not least, a poem from one of the organisers, which made me cry.

The Land Across The Water

The polytheist community in the US seems much more vibrant than that in Britain and Europe. I can’t find many bloggers from either Britain or the continent, though the ones I do follow are interesting. Maybe we need something like Many Gods West to bring people out of the woodwork?

9 thoughts on “We need something like this…

  1. I’m a UK based Brythonic polytheist and have recently been following the development of polytheism in America. There were a couple of small polytheist groups in the UK who held conferences and rituals such as the Association of Polytheist Traditions (which has closed) and Dun Brython which I’m involved with is still running but quiet. I believe the Grey Mare camp still runs? Still, there is dearth. Any ideas?

    1. Hello Lorna, thanks for commenting, I remember the APT; I was a member for a year or two, but I never managed to get to any of the conferences they held while they were in existence.
      I live in northern Lincolnshire and it feels a bit isolated here, in terms of other polytheists or organisations. Someone tried to organise a pagan event in Lincoln in April but it wasn’t well attended and the organiser is considering not running it again.
      I think that the problem for any event that was organised, the polytheist population is so spread out across Britain and Europe that trying to get anything on a reasonably large scale organised might be difficult.

      1. Sorry to hear its so quiet in Lincolnshire. I live in Lancashire and there are a number of pagan moots, groves and covens but nothing for polytheists. Maybe because the majority here identify as Druid, Wiccan or Heathen (although there haven’t been any local hearths for a while). I was involved with UCLan Pagan Society for a while which has ended due to lack of student interest. I’m currently a member of the Oak and Feather Grove who meet for Druid rituals. I’m also involved with Dun Brython, perhaps we’ll have a physical meeting at some point. Do you follow a particular path or polytheistic tradition by the way?

      2. My path? Well I started off Heathen about twelve/thirteen years ago and it’s developed since; now I focus on ancestors, land spirits, the Matronae, Wuldor, Wayland, Ing, Nerthus, Nehellenia and Frea. I also have a great fondness for the Humber, who has a very powerful presence in the local area and my family history.

      3. Thanks for sharing 🙂 There are a couple of altars to the Matronae near me but I’ve not managed to make a real connection yet. Which is surprising in relation to their presence and the strong Marian heritage here.But not surprising in that I’m not at all motherly, will never have children and don’t have a nurturing bone in my body!

        Whilst I’m a Brythonic polytheist I’m perfectly happy to connect with the Heathen gods: my surname Smithers is as English as you get! They just don’t often call to me and I struggle to get into their myths. Do you Linda Sever or Runic John? (Both are Heathens based here in Lancs).

      4. I am neither maternal, nor want children either 🙂 I connected with the Matronae when I read a random book about archaeology, I think, and the 1st to 4th century stellae were discussed, with photographs. It felt like I got a poke in the ribs and told ‘take notice!’. So I did. 🙂 (Sometimes They like a cup of tea in the morning.)

        I struggled with the Scandinavian myths, but the surviving fragments in Old English literature make sense to me, even if they’re few and far between. I think it’s better to follow where you’re called than force a connection where it doesn’t feel right.

        I’ve heard of Runic John. I know Runic John has written a couple of books and I think I saw an article he wrote about Seidh in a magazine years ago. Actually, that might be where I recognize his name from. Linda Sever’s name is familiar but I don’t think I’ve read anything by her.

Leave a Reply

