Review: The Retribution by Val McDermid

On Monday I went to the monthly reading group meeting at my local library. The book we were discussing, The Retribution by Val MaDermid was very popular with our small group. I had never read any if her books until yesterday morning.

I’ve not really been in the right frame of mind to do much recently; my anxiety levels have been high. But, yesterday morning I decided I really should get the book started. Three and a half hours later I was 140 pages in, and running late for the Reading Group. I renewed the book after the meeting, and continued reading as I walked home. I finished it last might and started on this month’s book, Blue Lightning by Ann Cleeves.

It has been a while since I’ve read a crime thriller; I couldn’t put The Retribution down. It had excellent pacing and tension. The characters, flawed and human, were interesting, and the parallel plot lines were intriguing. I can see why the television series Wire in the Blood, based in McDermid’s Dr Tony Hill books, was so popular.

Thoroughly good introduction to the author’s work, highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

