I am only resolved to act in that manner, which…

…will, in my own opinion, constitute my happiness, without reference to you, or any person so wholly unconnected with me.

Yes, I did just quote Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice.

Firstly, Happy New Year.

Secondly, thanks for reading my scribbling for another year.

Thirdly, I’m not going to add to the list of bloggers sharing their New Year’s Resolutions.

I don’t have any. Except the one in the title. Jane Austen managed, two hundred years ago, to sum up how I feel today. About 2015, and life in general.

I’m not very good at specific resolutions. Resolutions force us to think in narrowly defined paths. For instance, you resolve to lose weight or get fit; for the next six weeks you join the gym or commit to rigorous exercise regimes, you only eat salad, weighing and measuring every ounce of food.

And you beat yourself up for not being ‘perfect’. This is something I’ve done many times since I was about ten. There is no happiness to be found going along that old, well-trod road.

TEDTALK playlist: Get in shape (for real this time)

Health and happiness to you all, in 2015 and all your lives.

2 thoughts on “I am only resolved to act in that manner, which…

Leave a Reply

