Gifts

It’s that time of year again boys and girls; inevitable trips to crowded malls and rammled shops. I hate it.


Seriously, I despise the madness to buy buy buy! Mostly through poverty, but also because I hate shopping, I’ve been making a lot of gifts in the last few years. They may not be perfect or the latest thing but I put thought into my efforts. Yes, I am irritated by crass commercialization and rampant materialism at what is supposed to be a time for family, friendship, bonhommie and general good will, eating, drinking and terrible television programmes.

Gift giving is an essential part of many collective traditions, in this case the secular and/or Christian celebration of Christmas, and the pagan festival of Midwinter or Yule, although of course other religions have festivals at this time of year but I am unfamiliar with them. It is fun and exciting to see what surprises are under the tree. It’s not so much fun trying to work out what to get, especially when you’re on a tight budget, and the advertising everywhere tells you that only by spending lots of money can one day of the year be made perfect.

I don’t know about you, but I’d rather someone put thought in to my gift, spent time on it and me, rather than money, and debt wasn’t a constant worry in the endeavour to make things perfect. Money spent doesn’t equal love felt, nor does it guarantee against the vagaries of life. Give your gifts of love, spend time among your loves ones, and don’t keep worritting about how much you’re spending.

Leave a Reply

