Winterfyllith

Winter hasn’t quite arrived, but it has sent a text to tell us to put the kettle on.

It’s the middle of October, which usually signals it’s time to prep for NaNoWriMo, planning my plot, working on characters etc. But not this year.

Because this year I’m not taking part in National Novel Writing Month.

I’ve decided to concentrate on my three works in progress, rather than add a forth project to the list. I have a plot worked out for my next novel but I think my current novel deserves the energy. I’m about halfway through and already at 45,000 words. I really want to get the second draft finished this year. I love the challenge of NaNoWriMo; it’s a great stimulus for the writer but the work really comes in after the first draft is finished. While the challenge of writing a novel in a month is exciting and the feeling of fulfillment when successfully completed is immense, I have to keep going for the long haul. I am really excited by this novel and the way it is evolving as I write.

For those who read my previous post on the subject, work, though not a great job, and not what I want to do, is going fairly well. The production staff are pleasant enough and I don’t have any stress. If I have a complaint it is as a result of my accident at Coldwater in 2012, not because of my current place of work; my back is agony. I’m looking for another job because factory work is clearly unsuitable for me. I go to bed in agony, get up for work aching slightly and within half an hour at work I’m in so much pain I want to cry. I can’t take ibuprofen because of the entertaining (for others, not me) side-effects. I’ve done a little housework today and now my lower back is too painful to contemplate.

I’ve come to the conclusion that my unexplained ‘demotion’ is Wyrd’s way of telling me to concentrate on writing. I got distracted from the goal of becoming paid writer for a few days by the prospect of a career in quality control, which isn’t what I really should be doing.

I’m going for a gentle walk to the post office and library to see if exercise helps. I might visit the pharmacy while I’m out to see if they have any anti-inflammatories that aren’t ibuprofen based.

Bye.

Rose.

Leave a Reply

