Three years of blogging

It's August so, pretty moon picture. License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

It’s August so, pretty moon picture. License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

WOW!

Time has flown hasn’t it? Quite a few things have happened in the last three years. I thought I’d have a look back at some of my posts from the beginning and from each anniversary.

This time last year I was mostly reviewing books and discussing writing routines. I was in Yorkshire staying with friends and planning the future. The plans we made that week haven’t come to fruition because of differing personal circumstances but new futures have opened up. I had an interview in Lincoln yesturday. If I get that job I will probably have to move nearer the city eventually, after the first six months. I’d want to wait that long just to make sure the job is permanent. I’m looking for somewhere to live in Immingham at the minute; it’s been interesting to say the least. I’ve been to see eight different houses and flats. Some of them were lovely but too expensive, some cheap and vile. I finally looked round one on Thursday that’s across the road from where I live now; it’s small but suitable, a two up-two down terrace house. The second bedroom is study/book room sized, and the kitchen is new. I’d quite like it. Apart from anything else, it’s less than 200 yards from where I live now 😀

What was I writing about in August 2012? I didn’t blog much back then, just five posts; two book reviews and two opinion pieces and an update on a book I eventually abandoned writing. Actually I restarted work on it last week and have expanded on the work I’ve already done. Part of the reason I abandoned it was because I got distracted by book reviews and my day job.

I started this blog on 8th August 2011, some of my earliest posts were my own short stories and a post about writing inspiration. The last few years have seen some changes; I still write about writing, inspiration, the process, my works in progress etc, but I don’t post short stories anymore unless they are part of something else – a writing prompt, or exercise. Some of the early short stories I published here have taken on a life of their own. For instance the characters of the short sory I’ve linked to will be taking part in NaNoWriMo with me this year. They are getting a novel length story. They had a party when I told them. There was mead everywhere and I had to stop Hibalt raiding a library.

I’m celebrating managing to keep this blog going for three years by having a change of theme. I quite like this new theme; the colour appeals, especially the cream scroll and decoration between posts.

Have a good weekend, I’ll be back soon with a few reviews and some writing news.

Rose

Leave a Reply

