Asking my advice about skills and success? Don’t be daft.

I got an email yesterday that made me laugh, not because it was funny, but because the sender clearly hasn’t read this blog in any detail.

Hi Rosie,

My name is Bob and I’m the Community Manager at Webucator, an online learning company. I wanted to see if you would like to write an article to post on your blog about what you consider to be a valuable, marketable skill as part of our “Most Marketable Skill” Campaign in honor of the class of 2014. The job market is a scary place, hopefully this campaign will help it seem less daunting to this year’s graduating class!

What is it that you think is essential for success? We want to read about the skill that you personally feel is the most important, how you acquired or plan to acquire the skill, and why it’s so indispensable for people going into the workforce.

Please let me know if you’re interested in participating, or if you have any questions. I’d love to hear your thoughts, and I can provide more information about how we are giving back with our free self-paced MS Office courses.

Best,
Bob


Bob Clary
Community Manager – Webucator, Inc.
“Classes Never Cancel for Low Enrollment!”

Most marketable skill? Essential to success? How the hell would I know? I’m unemployed and struggle to find anyone who will even consider interviewing me.
There are useful things to know, such as certified IT literacy, but each profession or trade has its own specific skill set; finding one essential skill is impossible.

The only thing I can suggest to anyone going out into the jobs market for the first time is to develop your ability to write spectacular CV’s/resumes and application letters because if you can’t get past that stage you’re going to struggle to find rewarding, interesting employment. Make them specific to the job; a template (of which there are plenty available online) is a useful time saver if, like me, you’re applying for several jobs a day, but tailored tweaks will give the impression that you’ve actually put some effort into the application.

Highlight transferable skills, and relevant experience; grab attention with those in your application letter and the employer might look more closely at your CV.

Once you’ve impressed the employer with your fantastic CV and letter, and they’ve invited you for an interview, it gets difficult. I have nothing helpful to suggest, since clearly I suck at interviews.

This really isn’t something I should advise anyone about, considering my total failure at developing a career; I have picked up information from people who know more than I do. Sharing information in writing is probably one of my few talents.

And now I have to return to the soul crushing task of finding a job and a place to live within the next fortnight.

Bye

Rose

Leave a Reply

