Strangers criticise women for eating; Everyday Sexism discusses.

‘Are you really going to eat that?’ Yes, and it’s nobody else’s business http://t.co/SPskrglffY

— EverydaySexism (@EverydaySexism)

After my late morning nap and snuggles with the hell hounds, I had a quick trawl through Twitter and came across this Tweet from the Everyday Sexism project. Read the linked article, it’s interesting.

The article talks about the experiences of women who have had people, mainly men, comment about what they’re eating. It goes on to connect this to the sexist attitude that a woman’s body is public property to to praised or criticised by any random stranger.

Having been on the receiving end of critical comments about my body, and/or food choices when shopping or eating out by random strangers, often by bratty teenagers with no manners but just as often by adults who should a) know better, and b) have more important things to worry about, I completely understand where the writer of this article is coming from.

Women, strangely enough, don’t live on air, we need food too. *rolls eyes at stupidity of world in general* As always, with much of the sexism still polluting the cultural norms we live with, the gutter press and ‘women’s magazines’ are partly responsible for the continued existence of the idea that it’s perfectly normal to police other people’s eating habits. That needs to change. Now. When five year old’s are worrying about their weight and women are dealing with street harassment because they fancy a biscuit, we’ve got a serious problem.

On a personal note;

Yes I’m overweight. Yes I’m less fit than I’d like to be.
No it’s not your business. Are you my doctor? Nope? Then get lost ‘advising’ me.

No I’m not going to put back the *whatever random stranger objects to me eating/buying*
No you don’t have the right to police my eating habits.

Oh, and I’ll wear whatever I damn well please, I dress for my comfort, not yours.

I know that men sometimes get similar comments if they’re overweight, but from personal observation, at work, on social media, etc, such comments are made in jest by friends. A man rarely gets their shopping criticised by a random stranger in the supermarket or told they shouldn’t eat something because they are already/will get fat. It happens to women all the time.

Only when we treat each other with respect, regardless of sex, gender, orientation, origins, class etc; when it becomes as socially unacceptable to body and food shame a person, any person, as it is to make a racist comment; when we’re judged by our character and not by our appearance; will we be a truly civilised society.

Leave a Reply

