Sunshine and a trip to the cinema

This morning started out not bad, became meh and ended fantabulous.

The ‘meh’ was caused by my manager telling me that I would be losing my job in a week or so; the fantastic was the result of my friend E asking if I wanted to go to the cinema to see the new X-Men film, Day’s of Future past, since I finished work really, stupidly, early.
Of course.

Silly question.

It was brilliant. We saw the film in 3D and it was definitely worth the slight extra cost for new 3D glasses. It felt like there was more ‘depth’ to the 3D, if that makes any sense. E described it as being ‘less like decoupage’, with reference to the landscape scenes.

I don’t know a huge amount about the X-MEN ‘verse, but I have seen two or three of the films, so I have a basic understanding.

Quick run down of the plot (possible spoilers):The mutants have been hunted down, almost to extinction. Professor Xavier and Magneto have reconciled and, with a small band of familiar faces, including Wolverine, the join another small group. One of their new company is able to send another person’s conciousness back in time. Wolverine is sent back to the 1970’s to intercept Mystique and prevent the events that spark the mutant massacre.

As ever, Sir Ian McKellen and Sir Patrick Stewart were excellent as Charles Xavier and Magneto; their younger selves, played by James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender, were enjoyable to watch.

Whiplash was adorable (I’m not sure who played him though).

All in all, it was a pleasant way to pass a couple of hours. As with all Marvel films there was a final scene after the credits; we were the only ones who stayed for it. The scene didn’t make much sense, to be honest.

And now, I’m barely able to focus my eyes enough to type, so good night

Rise

Leave a Reply

