If I could do it all again…

I’d change everything.

I know it’s not usual to say so, but I would. I made so many bad choices, acted contrary to my inclinations because of outside pressure and didn’t take the opportunities I should have.

1999

My A level choices were too narrow, which meant my university options were also narrow. I should have forced myself to step out of my comfort zone and gone to the local college instead of staying at school. I’d have had a wider choice of subjects and it would have prepared me better for university. I’d have studied maths, chemistry, history, English language and literature, and politics I think. Maybe I would still have gone on to study the sciences or maybe I’d have focused on journalism and politics. I don’t know.

That really irks me. How would things have been different if I’d worried less about practical considerations and family expectations, and followed my instincts?

2001

University. I did not make enough of an effort to get involved. I wanted to, but too shy and nervous, too concerned with appearance, I sat back and kept out of it all. I wasted such a fantastic opportunity.

I also knew within the first week that my chosen degree wasn’t for me. I should have changed straight away to Natural Sciences and studied a much broader range of subjects. Stubbornness and fear prevented me from it. By the time I did change degrees in my second year I didn’t have an awful lot of wriggle room.

Now

I regret nothing, the experience was lived and some of it I enjoyed. I would still do things differently if I could. Then again, I might now be wishing I’d stuck to chemistry.

I’m considering studying part time for more A Levels and maybe another degree, once I have a job that’ll pay enough for me to afford to study again. I’ve worked full time and studied in the past, so I don’t think I’d have a problem doing that again.

We can’t know what might have been, but if one path doesn’t lead you home then find another and keep searching until you find something fulfilling.

Leave a Reply

