Hugo awards 2014

Earlier today Seanan McGuire retweeted something about Worldcon. I have never heard of this particular convention so I googled it.

It’s the World Science Fiction Convention. I should have guessed really. I’ve enjoyed Seanan McGuire’s books when she’s written as Mira Grant. I do love a zombie story.

This year’s convention is in London. It’s very tempting to go. Not sure I could afford it though, unless some miracle occurs. Anyway, the Hugo Awards finalists are announced at Worldcon, on Saturday 19th August this year.

I had a thought, I might try to read the five novels up for an award:

*Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Orbit US / Orbit UK)

*Neptune’s Brood by Charles Stross (Ace / Orbit UK)

*Parasite by Mira Grant (Orbit US / Orbit UK)

*Warbound, Book III of the Grimnoir Chronicles by Larry Correia (Baen Books)

*The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson (T
or Books / Orbit UK)

I’m not sure whether this last refers to a specific book in The Wheel of Time series or the entire series. There’s no chance I can read all fourteen by mid-August, but I think I might manage the first one.

I think I’ll try to make my way through the list between now and August. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

