An Ode in Praise of Tea

NaPoWriMo continues apace and I have a new poem for today.

image

(image from http://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Tea_set.jpg)

It’s no secret, I love a mug of tea.
Black tea, green tea, fruit or herbal.
I’m not prejudiced, I just enjoy a nice cup if tea.

With milk and sugar, honey, a squeeze of lemon, or unadorned, it doesn’t bother me.
I just enjoy a nice cup of tea.

Breakfast time, mid-morning, dinner and tea, evening or afternoon, it’s all the same to me.
I just enjoy a hot cup of tea.

Tradition, brought to England by a Portuguese princess, with her Indian dowry; a balm to exhausted nerves, warmth in winter, cooling in summer; a space to think, a polite ritual and welcome.
I do like a hot mug of tea.

Not my best work, more like a jumble of thoughts. I need to work on it.

Leave a Reply

