My Most Inspirational Writers – JRR Tolkien

This…

Geek With a Pen

Tolkien is the reason I write. I first read The Lord of the Rings when I was 13/14. My mum got me the set of books with The Hobbit for Christmas. Because it was so well wrapped and an odd size, I couldn’t figure out what the gift was. It was heavy and felt completely solid. The wrapping paper was shiny forest green, plain; I think she’d run out of Christmas wrapping paper. That just made it all the more mysterious. I left that present until last and when I finally opened it I couldn’t have been more thrilled. A box set of books! I had absolutely no idea what a hobbit was and what The Lord of the Rings was about but I started to read them straight away.

I have vague recollections of the Ralph Bakshi film made in 1978 but I was too young to follow the…

View original post 357 more words

Leave a Reply

