Review: Welbeck Hotel, Talbot Street, Nottingham

I just got back from another weekend in Nottingham and this time I stayed at the hotel that is right next to Rock City, partly because it was the cheapest hotel available for the night and partly because HIM – no other excuse needed.

I stayed at The Welbeck Hotel; I booked a single room for £79.99. It was rather more than I usually pay for a single night. When I got into the room I saw why: kingsize bed!

The room came with free WiFi, digital tv, tea and coffee, desk and small table plus chairs.

Pros

  • The staff I encountered were efficient, friendly and helpful.
  • The room service was quick
  • The meal was excellent and a good price – Grilled ham baguette, thick cut chips and salad. It filled the plate, not a small plate at that
  • The room was quiet and I slept well
  • The bed was fairly comfortable (as well as huge)
  • The room was not over warm, which makes a nice change
  • The bathroom was fairly decent

Cons

  • I had to close the curtains when I got into the room because it was on the ground floor and overlooked by the building behind the hotel
  • WiFi didn’t work at all
  • The carpet left something to be desired
  • The room could do with a repaint and dusting
  • When I had a closer look this morning the bath panel was coming away and the toilet flush handle was also loose

Pictures

Would you like to see some pictures?

DSCF2011[1] DSCF2012 DSCF2013 DSCF2014 DSCF2015 DSCF2016 DSCF2017 DSCF2018 DSCF2019 DSCF2089

Leave a Reply

