Review: The Strathdon Hotel, Derby Road, Nottingham

index

I found this hotel on bookings.com, and for two nights I was pleased with the price. Unusually enough I was able to get a single room. It was an easy hotel to get to from the train station, once I got to Maid Marion Way, and very close to Rock City which was a bonus.

Pros

  • Staff are polite and helpful
  • Evening meals are fairly inexpensive and there is a good choice of meals
  • If booked in advance it’s quite cheap
  • Near city centre
  • Easy to get to
  • Rooms clean and tidy, if bijou
  • Fairly quiet at night
  • Free WiFi

DSC_0007

Cons

  • The full breakfast is not worth paying nearly £10 for
  • The bathroom is a shower room – a tiny box. If you turn the shower on full it floods the bathroom
  • The chairs in the bar were clearly designed for children
  • The bedroom door doesn’t lock on the inside
  • The room was too warm
  • Room furniture has seen better days
  • I almost fell out of the bed because it’s too small and too firm
  • No evening meals on a Sunday
  • Still no sign of housekeeping staff at 10.00 am. I am in need of fresh towels – that bathroom flooding problem has soaked them
  • Not really accessible for those with limited mobility – the steps to the door are steep and the lifts are supposed to hold six people but were cramped with three in them; admittedly I probably equal two normal sized people, so we’ll say four at most
  • WiFi is intermittent

DSC_0005 DSC_0006

If you want a cheap night’s accommodation and can’t get in to the Premier Inn then this hotel will do well enough. I had booked a room for later in the month when I come back to Nottingham to see HIM but I’ve cancelled it. The hotel room I’ve booked elsewhere will cost me almost as much for one night as it has cost me for two but the quality should be greater, plus it’s right next to Rock City.

I’m off out for a few hours now; I’m going to explore Nottingham for a bit.

Bye

Rose

Leave a Reply

