Procrastination by mobile

I realised something today: if my phone is on I can’t work.

I procrastinate like nobody’s business. At home it’s my only access to the internet so I check my emails, then Twitter then Facebook. And then spend a couple of hours reading blogs on WordPress. It’s very distracting.

Today I turned my phone off for three hours and got a fair bit done. I read a couple of chapters each of all the books I need to review, wrote a review and then wrote 1000 words one of the short stories in my anthology. Turning my phone off and making a ‘To Do’ list are my strategies to get work done. I have quite a few e-books to review at the minute because I keep seeing interesting books on Net Galley that I want to read.

In the current issue of Mslexia magazine there are the results of a survey they sent out to subscribers a few months ago. The subject of the survey? Procrastination. I had a look on their website but can’t find the results there, and I’ve left my copy of the mag at home but I think social media was cited as one of the big procrastination tools, as well as housework and staring out of the window.

http://www.mslexia.co.uk/

At least next time they survey I’ll be able to write something useful in the comments box.

Bye,

Rose

 

Leave a Reply

