Children and writing

Evening all.

I’m exhausted from looking after my niece and nephew all day. I’ve tried to get my reading and a bit of writing done, but haven’t had much luck.


Other than reading a few chapters of ‘Affliction’ I haven’t had the time, and now they have gone home I haven’t got the energy to concentrate on anything. I may even have an early night.

I have the greatest respect for writers who have children. It can’t be easy to get a novel or articles written when you have children needing attention while you’re trying to work.

I don’t resent the time I spend with my niece and nephew because before I know it, just like my youngest cousins, they’ll be grown up and off into the world, but damn I had a lot to do today. I’ve been continuing my ‘writing lists to get things done’ habit this week but I think I made the mistake of thinking I could carry on as normal with the monsters here.

Lesson learnt: be prepared to do less work when babysitting and don’t expect to have any energy once the kids have gone home.

On the other hand we did have a fun day painting, playing at the park, building a den in the back garden, reading a book about wilderness survival and making things out of it, and baking. I managed to have my mid-afternoon nap, while the children amused themselves. We even had a geology lesson, while my nephew painted a clay volcano he’d made me.

Alright, I’m going now, I need sleep!

Bye

Rose

Leave a Reply

