Recovering from a day out in Leeds

I’m visiting a friend in Yorkshire for a few days and yesterday we spent the day in Leeds. It was very tiring and interesting. I have had a headache since waiting for the bus to come back to the village I’m staying in.

Leeds has quite a lot of shops, there is something for every taste. And as the train and bus stations are fairly close to the city centre quite easily accessible. There are also maps and decent sign-posting for the easily lost and confused.

For the first time in my life I went in to a comic book shop and bought comics. We had a great time geeking out about Dr Who, Star Trek, and The Big Bang Theory, amongst other things.

I went to the Dr Martin’s shop and scared myself at the price of boots – although there was a lovely purple pair I really wanted. Anyone got £150 they can lend me so I can go get them?

Lush is a fantastic shop, but I spent far too much money and I suspect the sensory overload is responsible for my headache. Some of the products are incredibly highly scented. The tub of charity hand and body cream I bought has barely any scent, which suits me fine, and it’s so good! A tiny amount covered my gigantic boat-like feet. I can’t wait to try the honey soap and seaweed shampoo when I get home.

We were going to go to McDonald’s for dinner but decided we’d probably get irritated by all the people so we went to Ditsch instead and bought pizza’s and sweet pretzels. They were lovely and fresh. I’ve never had pretzels either. It turned in to a day of discovery for me.

http://www.ditsch.co.uk

We spent three hours at the Royal Armouries; there are many, many pictures. As soon as my brain is functioning properly I shall try to get a few online. We really enjoyed the galleries and playing at being generals on the little computers (because we are five year olds, sometimes) and the demonstration of sword fighting was really interesting. And popular, especially with children who couldn’t wait to hold the swords and ask questions after the demo was over. The shop had a sale on, so naturally I bought a couple of books, and a few other things. I stared longingly at swords as well.

This is a very ‘interactive’ museum, and the staff are friendly and helpful, it’s also free to go in to, has a cafe as well as ‘picnic areas’ for those who’ve brought their own food. There is usually some sort of demonstration going on  and events for children (currently ‘Knight School’ and a cross bow range). It’s certainly worth visiting if you’ve got an afternoon to spare in Leeds.

http://www.royalarmouries.org/visit-us/leeds

And that was my day out, I’m recovering still.

Rose

Leave a Reply

