Archive | April 2013

HIM ‘Tears on Tape’

It’s arrived!

I’m listening to it now; full review to follow when I finish fangirling.



Black Sabbath: God’s existence might be in question but Sabbath’s supremacy is not

Ah, Black Sabbath are back(!) with their new single from the album ’13’ due to be released in June. I can’t stop listening to their new song ‘God is Dead?’; Ozzy Osbourne still has a truly unique voice, Mr Iommi’s riffs are perfection, Geezer Butler is as good a bass player as ever and Tommy Clufetos makes an excellent addition to Black Sabbath as their drummer.

The lyrics question the existence of a God, because of all the religious wars in the world, but in the end Ozzy maintains that he believes that God is not dead. If this song is an example of what the new album will be like then I can’t wait to hear it. This song is a great addition to the Sabbath canon and shows that time has not diminished the ability of Black Sabbath to create great music.


Review: Reckless Love ‘Night on Fire’

I was just checking my Facebook page and the guitarist for Reckless Love posted the video for their new single ‘Night on Fire’ on his page, which of course came up on my timeline. I have a soft spot for this group of Finns; they’re cheerful, I can’t help but sing along to ‘Coconuts’ and ‘Born to rock’. They write catchy, happy metal – they’re Merry Metalheads and I like their first two albums very much. Since that’s the case I thought I’d watch the video.

This is another catchy song that reminds me a lot of their second album, ‘Animal Attraction’ sonically if not lyrically. I like the video too, even better on the second viewing.

I really am going to get on with listening to those new albums now, promise.


Strip no Alter

And here is the second band that followed me today:

Strip no Alter

A Brazilian band that describes their sound as ‘a straight and powerful cross-over between heavy metal, hardcore, rock ‘n’ roll and old school punk rock’ that is ‘ironic, immoral and politically incorrect’. This three-piece formed in 2008 and immediately produced an EP.


  • Plinio Scambora – vocals/guitar
  • Erick Johnsons – bass
  • Hud Souza – drums


  • EP Voner (2008)
  •  Album The Hell Soundtrack (2011)
  • Digital EP (iTunes only) The Heaven Soundtrack (2011)
  • Album Vertical Smile (2012)

All but the EP, Voner, are available on the band’s website as free downloads.

Websites etc


They’re not bad, ‘Vertical Smile’ is better than ‘The Hell Soundtrack’. I can’t understand what they’re singing about, but the songs grew on me. I can see the innuendo in the album title, and most of the song titles, so I’ll assume that they live up to their boast of being ‘ironic, immoral and politically incorrect’. I might have to listen to the songs a few times to understand what they are about. The band definitely show their metal and punk influences throughout the album ‘Vertical Smile’, getting heavier towards the later tracks.Might be an interesting band to listen to if that’s the sort of music you like.

Now that I’ve finished listening to the bands I have following my Twitter, I’m going to get on with listening to BMTH’s ‘Sempiternal’, since everyone’s been saying how great it is, Sacred Mother Tongue’s ‘Out of Darkness’ since I’ve been wittering for it for days that I want to hear it and I finally got it on Spotify last night, and finally Black Sabbath’s new single ‘God is Dead?’. Ah, Spotify, how I adore thee? Let me count the ways.



Message to Venus

Since bands keep following me on Twitter, and I really need to do some writing right now (I find it therapeutic), I have decided to give in and write about them instead of complaining about it. Two bands followed me today: Message to Venus, from Puerto Rico/Florida and Strip no Alter, from Brazil. This post will be about Message to Venus. Shall we get started?

Message to Venus

Formed in 2009 by Puerto Ricans

  • Jandre Nadal
  • John Feliciano
  • Edgar Ramos
  • JuanMa Font

in Florida.

Contact Details:

  • Twitter: @MessageToVenus
  • Facebook: Message to Venus
  • ‘The Envelope’ is on Spotify


  • Single ‘Cold & Grey’ March 2010
  • EP ‘The Envelope’ February 2011
  • Album ‘Victims & Villains’ – soon


I actually quite liked their EP; it sounds a lot like 30 Seconds to Mars’ s second album ‘A beautiful lie’. I would recommend it if you like them. Actually, it’s a good EP whether you like Mars or not. Go and have a listen.



Review:Iron Man 3

Robert Downey Jr returns as Tony Stark in iron Man Three. Suffering from PTSD after the events of New York (The Avengers), Tony has hidden himself away in his basement working on the Iron Man suits, all 42 of them. Then a new threat arrives in the form of ‘The Mandarin’; bombs explode unexpectedly and leave no trace of their origin. Everyone is baffled. The past comes back to haunt Tony, and when his friend and former bodyguard, Happy, is injured in one of the explosions, Tony Stark issues a declaration of war.

This is a cracking film; funny, action packed and exciting.  I saw it in 3D, I’m not sure whether the 3D added anything to the film. This film is a great addition to the Marvel-verse family of films, and continues the story on from last year’s Avengers movie. I wait in anticipation for the release of Thor 2: The Dark World in November.