The V&A Museum: part 1

Today we’re visiting the Victoria and Albert Museum. I’ve only had a couple of hours to wander around. Choices, choices, where to go first?

I chose to visit the exhibits from China, Japan, and Korea. The exhibits were well designed and artifacts well chosen to illustrate the periods and cultures highlighted. I especially loved the textiles on display.

Next I visited the 3rd floor with the religious silverware and stained glass. This was fascinating. And busy.

After a detour through one of the small shops dotted about the Museum (I only bought 1 book – honestly) I visited the fashion exhibit.

All through the museum there are areas to explore and study.

There is a pleasant garden in the centre of the museum with a large water feature in which paddling is allowed but clothes mustn’t be removed. It’s probably a relaxing place to sit in the summer but in March it’s far too chilly, although we did briefly consider a paddle.

I wish I had had more time; I could have done with an entire day to see everything.

The Museum was fairly busy but didn’t feel crowded. The staff were friendly, even when inspecting my bag. The suggested donation of £3 is more than fair considering the size and quality of the Museum and its exhibits. The shops are a bit expensive though.

I didn’t eat in the Cafe but other members of my group have given me there opinion on the Cafe: it’s too bloody expensive. Nice but ‘too gourmet for my tastes’ according to one. And another said ‘I nearly fainted at the price of a can of coke’. Another said that their ham and cheese baguette had mustard in and it wasn’t mentioned on the menu.

So that’s my review of the V & A Museum.

Leave a Reply

