Here’s a bit more

Here’s another 1500 word or so of the short story is posted on Sunday.

Words! Words! Words! part 2

Diary Entry: Friday 23rd March 2012

It’s so quiet here, I’m alone at the moment, my friends have gone for now. In a couple of weeks we’ll have a house warming party, but for now I just want to make the place home. There’s so much stuff, I didn’t realise how much there would be! The sun is so beautiful today, its only March but it’s warm, sunny, almost summery. Time to shower; I need to wash away the dust! Now, how does the boiler work again?

Diary Entry: Saturday 24th March 2012

I’ve just realised, this is the first time in a year and a half that I’ve written in a diary. This isn’t a proper diary, just a notebook Lisa brought with her yesterday. It’s funny; ever since I found my old diaries I’ve felt the need to journal again. I usually only do that when I’m unhappy but at the minute life is good. I have a thriving business, and a new home. I’m going to the rescue centre next week and I’m going to get a cat. We can’t have dogs.

Diary Entry: Sunday 25th March 2012

It’s getting hectic again, with Easter and summer holidays coming up. Nice for some people, we aren’t having a holiday for a few more years, the shop can’t be left for too long, and Jimmy really can’t be left alone too long.

Ahh, well, we have the house to decorate this year anyway.

Diary Entry: Saturday 31st March 2012

I have two cats! Jessie and Ron! We went to the Blue Cross today, and I could have taken all of them home. But I was restricted to two and two only. And no dogs. There was the cutest chinny ever there. We only have just enough room as it is. I suppose I could put them in the conservatory? Nah, I’m dreaming again. Two cats was one cat more than we were originally going to have.

Diary Entry: Sunday 1st April 2012

The bloody cats have been attacking the curtains! And yowling all night! Why did I think this was a good idea? Paully rang me from the shop, Jimmy fucked up the till again yesterday, and he’s had to sort it all out again. Hahhah, nothing every changes does it? I’m still complaining about the shop and Jimmy messing up. But things have changed haven’t they? Now I’m happy, two years ago I was happy, but now we have our own home, instead of rented flats, and two shops. Maybe I should look through my old diary, no, I can’t, I don’t want to go through that stress, even second hand.

Diary Entry: Monday 2nd April 2012

Patricia came in to the shop today; it was a nice surprise I have to say. I haven’t really seen much of her in the last couple of years. We were talking about a few things and for some reason I invited her round for tea on Friday. She told me she only found out that the lads would be home during their tour because she saw it on their website. Matt is such a prick. He could at least have rung her. I never thought he’d be like that, not when I first met him, he was so kind, solicitous, charming even, and intelligent but ambitious. He wanted so much for them to succeed. I’m not sure I like what success has done to him, to all of them really.

I’m not going to look in my 2010 diary. It isn’t worth reliving the pain.

Diary Entry: Tuesday 3rd April 2012

Lisa came to the shop today; she left Jimmy in charge at the Kingston shop. I sent Paully over as soon as Lisa turned up. I am not spending tomorrow tidying up his mess again! Anyway, we were talking about Patricia’s visit yesterday and then we started meandering down memory lane. We worked it out; at the end of the month it’ll have been a year since we opened the Kingston branch, two years since Paul started working for us, and four since we opened the shop, so we’re thinking of having a party. And some sort of promotional thing in the shops, we’re not sure what yet. I’m going to have to get my thinking cap on!

Diary Entry: Thursday 5th April 2012

We had a management meeting this evening, Paully, Lisa, Jimmy and myself had a take away and a gas about what we’re going to do for our four/two/one year anniversary. I think we need to do some discounting, maybe ten per cent off everything? But the others weren’t so keen on the idea. Not sure what else to try? But we’re going to have a party anyway, for all the staff. There will be three cakes. Ohh, there’s an idea; perhaps we can give out bags of sweets or bits of cake to customers? But only if they buy something. I’ll tell the gang tomorrow.

Diary Entry: Friday 6th April 2012

That was interesting. Patricia wasn’t here very long, I think she was just curious to be honest. She had a bite to eat, made small talk, had a snoop about the place and then made some excuse to leave. Well, I didn’t think my company was that bad! But apparently she did. Ahh well, can’t do anything about it I suppose. I was only being nice for old time’s sake. I’m sure she’ll go home and gossip to her real friends about how her famous son’s stupid ex (‘can’t imagine why she left him, my Matthew is an absolute angel’ – I can hear her now J)has got herself a fancy house out of town and two shabby little bookshops. (‘can’t imagine why she thinks she’s so good, just because she’s got a couple of shops’). I’m probably just being bitching and pessimistic. Maybe I’ve read the situation wrong, it wouldn’t be the first time.

Diary Entry: Saturday 7th April 2012

Home from work and absolutely exhausted. Lisa is supposed to be coming round later to discuss promo stuff, don’t think I’ve got the energy! Someone get me the vodka and lemonade!

Diary Entry: Sunday 8th April 2012

We didn’t discuss the promo work, instead Lisa found my old diaries again and started reading them aloud to me. I think she has a sadistic streak! Why have I never noticed that before?

Oh and we got very drunk. We don’t often do that these days. Lisa crashed here; Jimmy has gone out with Paul for a ‘boys night out’ in Kingston. Gods only know what state they were in when they got back to J & L’s place, but I think Lisa’s glad she crashed here instead of getting a taxi home. I think we all needed it though, it’s getting stressful at work at the minute and we all needed to blow off steam.

I’m having a lazy day today, I think I’m just going to sit in the garden and read. If the cats will let me. My dear creatures like to knock my books out of my hand, because if my hands are full of books then I’m not stroking them. I’m going to feed Ron to next doors dog if he’s not careful!

‘So?’ Lisa asked me from the till, as the last customer of the day left the shop. Saturday’s are always the worst and I couldn’t wait to go home.

‘So what?’ I said, as I pulled the blinds over the windows, shutting out the lowering early summer sun.

‘Did you read any more of your old diaries? We had a laugh when we read those few entries from January and February 2010, did you read the rest?’

‘No.’ It had been a month since I’d even thought about them, to be honest. Why was she bring this stuff up now?

‘Oh, why not?’

‘Because I don’t want to rake up painful memories. It’s long over and done with.’

‘Really? Are you sure? Because it doesn’t always seem that way, especially now that they’re coming home for a while and you’re talking to Patricia again?’

‘I’m sure, they are the past, this is now, and we’re quickly hurtling in to the future, why upset everything?’

‘Spoilsport, I wanted to read some more, maybe I’ll take your diary home and read it for myself if you won’t.’ She disappeared in to the back room for a minute.

‘No Lisa, you won’t.’ I told her when she returned lugging the vacuum cleaner (we really needed a new one), ‘If anyone reads them it’ll be me, and I’m in no mood at the minute for a trip down memory lane. And you have other things to think about, including not carrying that damn great thing around.’

‘Stop fussing, do. It’ll do no harm. The doctor said that moderate exercise is good for me.’

‘Fine, fine, just be careful.’

I’m home now, and the house is empty, or it feels that way after the busyness of work. I’m going to retreat to the conservatory with a nice cold glass of vodka and a book.

I went to my room searching for something to read. I have thousands of books, I own (well part-own) two book shops, there is no way I should feel like I have nothing to read, but I do.

I hunt round the house for something I want to read, I trail from my bedroom to my sitting room, the second bedroom that’s used as an office back to my bedroom. I feel aimless, thinking over Lisa’s words from earlier. Maybe I should read my old diary? What harm can it do? After all it’s all in the past now isn’t it? I’ve moved on, so has he, from what I’ve heard.

Finally I give in. I search through the bedside draw, (why is it even in there?), ah, there it is, under my notebooks and random bits of jewellery.

_________________________________________________________________________________

That’s your lot so far, I only had a short time to work on it this afternoon. Read please, feedback, so long as its constructive is needed, thanks.

R xXx

Leave a Reply

